Enable CRM Demo Mode
Article ID: KWin-0032
CRM provides a shared list of guest information which is
accessible from any of the properties configured into CRM. In production, this
shared list is accomplished by having a single copy of the CRM data files that
reside in the rdp01 directory. CRM demo mode allows the CRM data files to reside
in a demo directory rather than rdp01 and CRM can be tested without affecting
the production directory.
Enable the CRM demo mode by creating a C1 subrecord CRMLCL. Disabled it by removing the C1/CRMLCL record. (Use RDP-DOS 090 to do this.) Our demo files all have the C1/CRMLCL now, so CRM demo mode is enabled by default in our demo files.
Create a demo directory populated with the customer's own data files to allow testing and experimentation with the CRM.
- Create and populate a demo directory.
- Using RDPDOS, login to the demo directory and add the C1/CRMLCL record.
- If RDPWin is already logged into the demo directory, you must log off and log in again for the newly added CRMLCL record to be recognized.
- Log in to the demo directory, configure CRM. In demo mode, CRM can only support a single property - the demo directory. The properties tab should only be configured for this one property. Any others will be ignored in demo mode.
- When logged into the demo directory, CRM files will be created and accessed in that local directory. The rdp01 directory will not be affected.
- CRMWeb can be directed to access the demo directory also. Change c:\Program Files\ResortDataProcessing\CRMWeb\CRMPath.txt to point to the demo directory rather than rdp01. This effects all CRMWeb sessions, so can only be done prior to going live.
Note: CRM remote access is not compatible with demo mode. The CRM remove server is not accessed while in CRM demo mode: even if one is configured. By removing the C1/CRMLCL record, our demo files can be configured to use a remote CRM server. The demo files include the C1/CRMLCL record, so if a remote CRM server environment is being tested, the CRMLCL record must be removed each time new data files are unzipped.